June 04, 2014
10th Aram Khachaturian International Jubilee Competition

The grand opening of 10th Aram Khachaturian International Competition (piano) is going to take place on maestro Khachaturian's birthday, June 6, at 19:00 at Aram Khachaturian Concert Hall.  The main purpose of 2014 Competition is to identify young talented pianist.

Yerevan is going to host a lot of foreign guests, in the face of jury members, participants, special guests and, of course, just musicians.    

During  the opening ceremony the State Youth Orchestra of Armenia, the official orchestra of the competition since 2007,(artistic director and principal conductor Sergey Smbatyan)and the winner of several international competitions, Aram Khachaturian International Competition (piano) Jury President, pianist Armen Babakhanyan will perform a concert.   

Concert program includes the Piano Concerto by Aram Khachaturian. 

The geography of Competition participants is very wide. This year the preliminary stage had overcome representatives from U.S., Canada, Latvia, Taiwan, Japan, South Korea, China, Russia, Armenia and other countries.

The project is being implemented thanks to joint efforts of RA Ministry of Culture, “Aram Khachaturian-competition” Cultural Foundation and Yerevan Komitas State Conservatory.

The competition is held under the high patronage of the Spouse of RA President Mrs. Rita Sargsyan, who is honorary president of the Board of Trustees of the competition.

The Board of Trustees includes such famous figures as:  Professor Jonathan Freeman-Attwood, Valery Gergiev, Pavel Kogan, Elizbieta and Krzysztof Penderecki, Professor Alexander Sokolov, Professor Alexander Tchaikovsky, Professor Ino Mirkovic, Mikhayil Shvidkoy, Маrk Zilberquit, Tanya Dorn, and other significant persons. In 2008, the Board of Trustees was elected Ambassador extraordinary and plenipotentiary, composer, and RA honored artist Professor Armen Smbatyan.

Since 2010, the general partner of the Competition is the Intergovernmental Foundation for Educational, Scientific and Cultural Cooperation (IFESCCO)             


 Armen Babakhanyan - chairman of the jury, pianist, Dean of Piano Department at Yerevan Komitas State Conservatory

  • Alexander Bonduryanski (Russia) – People's Artist of Russia, Professor, Deputy Rector for Artistic Activities and Academic Association, Deputy Rector for Artistic Activities and Academic Association
  • Anna Malikova (Russia) - Pianist
  • Carsten Dürer (Germany) – Publisher and Editor of Piano News & ENSEMBLE
  • Didier Martin (France) - Director of Naïve Classique & Jazz
  • Marco Sollini (Italy)- Pianist
  • Martin Hoffmeister(Germany) - MDR Figaro/MDR Kultur, Head of Music/Daily program
  • Samantha Maree Pollack (USA) - Director of Programs at the Washington Performing Arts Society (WPAS) in Washington
  • Jong-Hwa Park (South Korea)- Pianist


  • Gagik Gabrielyan, Russia, Director of "Aram Khachaturian"
     Foundation in Moscow
  • Cornelia Much, Germany,  Midem Germany - Austria - Poland
    midem classical & jazz
  • Tanja Dorn, Germany, Director IMG Artists GmbH, SVP & Director Artist Management,
    IMG Artists GmbH
  • Peter Grote, Germany, Artistic Executive, KAWAI Liaison Office      
  • Elzbieta Penderecka, Poland, President of Ludwig van Beethoven Association,
    General Director of Ludwig van Beethoven Easter Festival
  • Marianne Granvig, Dania, Secretary General
  • Ino Mirkovic, Croatia, UNESCO artist for peace, rector of Music
    Academy “Ino Mirkovich” in Lovran
  • Akemi Yamamoto, Japan, Board member of the
    Alink-Argerich Foundation, professional pianist, accompanist and piano teacher
  • Yuri Hayrapetyan, Russia, People's Artist of Armenia, Professor of Piano at Moscow Conservatory